Los Abrazos de mi Padre/ My Father’s Embraces

Los Abrazos de mi Padre

Mi carro es consumido por el hielo en invierno.
El aún se levanta antes que yo para desaparecer el hielo.
Así aún son los abrazos de mi padre en días fríos.

Él trabaja a la intemperie; descansa en los días lluviosos.
La lluvia nunca mojo mi cabeza rumbo a casa de la escuela.
Así fueron los abrazos de mi padre en días lluviosos en mi niñez .

Mi padre, un hombre bruto que lee a nivel de niño de primaria,
Se enseñó a sí mismo a abrazar con simples hechos,
Y al fin comprendí que por eso son así los abrazos de mi padre.

El laboro por años en los campos agachado todo el día,
Mi padre, un hombre rudo que se conmueve al verme triste,
Y me da una palmada en la espalda como consuelo.

Mi padre, al que yo acuse mil veces de no comprenderme,
Se mató trabajando  casi toda su vida para que yo tuviera opciones.
Este sería un poema en blanco si no fuera por mi padre.

Mi padre me ah abrazado toda la vida, aun sin yo darme cuenta,
Y hasta hoy he comprendido el amor en los abrazos de mi padre

B. Meza ©09/25/2016

Translation

 My father’s Embraces

My car is consumed by ice during winter.
He still wakes up before I do to disappear the ice.
Those are the embraces of my father in cold days.

He works outdoor and rests during rainy days.
The rain never touched my head going home from school.
Those were the embraces of my father in rainy days in my childhood.

My father, a brute man that reads at elementary level
Taught himself how to embrace with his simple deeds.
I finally understood why the embraces of my father are how they are.

He worked for years in fields crouching down all day.
My father, a rough man that gets moved when he sees me sad
And gives me a pat on the back to console me.

My father, whom I accused a thousand times of not understanding me,
Killed himself working for years so that I could have options.
This would be a blank poem, if it wasn’t for my father.

My father embraced me all my life, even when I didn’t notice.
And I finally understand all the love in the embraces of my father.

 

 

About B. Meza

Writing is liberating.
This entry was posted in Poesía, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

