Not for Me

I see lovers holding hands,

And I know love exist.

But this kind of love isn’t for me.

I see a couple marrying,

And I know love exists.

But this kind of love isn’t for me.

They are old but they still kiss.

I saw them in the park.

And I know love exists.

But this kind of love isn’t for me.

They have been together 40 years,

Without a binding contract

Or the blessing from a god,

He’s now dying in a bed;

She holds his brittle hand.

And I know love exists.

But this kind of love isn’t for me.

Love does not belong

Where the hope is gone;

I stopped holding it hostage.

Go on, I have set you free,

‘Cause you are not meant for me.

B. Meza  (C) 03/27/2016

About B. Meza

Writing is liberating.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Thoughts about life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

