Aspire not what You are but what You are Not

I like the word aspire, though, until recently I have used it wrongly. Aspire means, to long, aim, or seek ambitiously; be eagerly desirous, especially for something great or of high value. That’s the definition I like. But instead of using it to soar, I used to put myself down, and give myself less credit than I deserve.

I started writing since I was fourteen, although, I never shared what I wrote, until recently. Up to this point in my life I’m an unknown writer, and for many reasons there is a high probability that I will stay that way. To succeed in the arts is extremely difficult due to high competition, and because, well… The arts are a labor of love, for most people.  But that is not an excuse for me to say that I am aspiring something I decided to be long time ago. So, I stopped saying I am an aspiring writer.

You see… I am a writer – not a famous one, but a writer simply because I write, love it, and decided to share what I write.   What I do now is say something along the lines of:  I want to be a published writer, or if I feel like saying aspire, it would be something similar to:  I aspire to be a successful published author.  I decided to give me the credit I deserve, even if some people disagree.

I am a writer, I am a dreamer, I am a dancer, and I am so many other things.  I do have aspirations, though. I aspire to live to old age, I aspire to find a companion for the ride we call life, I aspire to be a better human being every day, and I aspire to not fear failure so much. If any of you feel like me, give yourself credit for what you are, and aspire something more.   Just remember that there is always room for improvement, and that aspirations need action. As long as you are alive there is always room for both.

Picture by: SJU Undergraduate Admissions, Flickr.com

About B. Meza

Writing is liberating.
This entry was posted in Thoughts about life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

